DOES YOUR DIGITAL PROJECT PROMOTE THE DEVELOPMENT    OF SUSTAINABLE  CITIES IN AFRICA? 

WHAT IS IT?

For the fourth consecutive year, the French Agency for Development commits alongside high impact digital actors in Africa. For this new edition, the AFD Digital Challenge wished to combine the challenge of digital transition with that of sustainable cities, in line with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goal 11 (SDG).

“ The creation of sustainable cities and communities” is a major challenge in view of the massive urbanization affecting the African continent. In fact, the vulnerabilities related to the centralization of populations are numerous and more particularly in a global context of climatic instability.

A sustainable city is one that has to, first of all, answer the basic needs of its population, and being the economic engine of the country, has to integrate the different environmental, social and cultural challenges related to its development. 

Digitalization is a powerful lever for the development of a sustainable, resilient and modern city in which its population actively participates in public decisions. However, the rise of digital technology must remain inclusive and accessible to all so as not to increase the inequalities of the continent.

AFD DIGITAL CHALLENGE IN NUMBERS: 

#25

Number of AFD Digital challenge winners

+1600

Number of applications

+40

Represented countries

THE ESSENTIALS

#1

Your project proposes a solution in the field of urban services, urban planning for the most vulnerable, local economic development or improvement in citizen and local authorities relationship.

#2

Your project is in the process of prototyping, launching on the market or expanding into other territories.

#3

Your project has a legal structure as well as a sustainable and autonomous business model.

#4

Digital technology is the heart of your solution.

THE ORGANIZERS

Public and solidarity Bank, the AFD is the central player in the french development policy. We are committed to projects that concretely improve the lives of people in developing countries, emerging countries and the overseas territories. 

Intervening in multiple sectors - energy, health, biodiversity, water, digital technology, trainings - we support the transition to a safer, fairer and more sustainable world: a world in common. Our action falls completely within the sustainable development objectives. Present in 108 countries through a network of 85 agencies, we finance and guide today more than 2500 development projects.

Digital Africa is an open and inclusive innovation, in the spirit of the "Commons", which aims to support the African entrepreneurial dynamic, drive digital innovation, and support the emergence of impact entrepreneurs.

The Digital Africa label federates African innovation initiatives and ecosystems, supports them by giving them access to resources and business opportunities, and puts them in touch with European innovation ecosystems to think together about the future.

An issue, a question not addressed in the FAQ?

Please contact:

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle

VOTRE PROJET NUMÉRIQUE FAVORISE LE DÉVELOPPEMENT DES VILLES DURABLES EN AFRIQUE ?

QU'EST-CE QUE C'EST ?

Pour la quatrième année consécutive, l’Agence Française de Développement s’engage aux côtés des acteurs du numérique à fort impact en Afrique. Pour cette nouvelle édition, l’AFD Digital Challenge a souhaité conjuguer le défi de la transition numérique à celui des villes durables, en lien avec l’objectif 11 du Développement Durable (ODD) porté par l’ONU.

“Créer des villes et des communautés durables” est un enjeu de taille au regard du phénomène d’urbanisation massive qui touche le continent Africain. En effet, les vulnérabilités liées à la centralisation des populations sont nombreuses et plus particulièrement dans un contexte global d’instabilité climatique.

La ville durable est une ville qui doit tout d’abord répondre aux besoins de base    de sa population et qui en tant que moteur économique du pays intègre les différents enjeux environnementaux, sociaux et culturels liés à son développement. 

Le numérique est levier puissant de développement d’une ville durable, résiliente, moderne au sein de laquelle sa population participe activement aux décisions publiques. Cependant l’essor du numérique se doit de rester inclusif, accessible à tous afin de ne pas accroître les inégalités du continent. 

DEPUIS SES DÉBUTS EN CHIFFRES

#25

Le nombre de lauréats

+1600

Nombre de candidatures reçues

+40

Pays représentés

LES INDISPENSABLES

#1

Votre projet propose une solution dans le domaine des services urbains, de l’aménagement de la ville pour les plus vulnérables, du développement économique

local ou  l’amélioration de la relation entre citoyens et autorités locales.

#2

Votre projet est en phase de prototypage, de lancement sur le marché ou bien d'expansion sur d’autres territoires.

#3

Votre projet possède une structure juridique ainsi qu’un modèle économique durable et autonome.

#4

Le numérique est au cœur de votre solution.

LES ORGANISATEURS

Banque publique et solidaire, l’AFD est l’acteur central de la politique de développement française. Nous nous engageons sur des projets qui améliorent concrètement le quotidien des populations, dans les pays en développement, émergents et l'Outre-mer.

 

Intervenant dans de nombreux secteurs - énergie, santé, biodiversité, eau, numérique, formation - nous accompagnons la transition vers un monde plus sûr, plus juste et plus durable : un monde en commun. Notre action s'inscrit pleinement dans le cadre des objectifs de développement durable (ODD). Présents dans 108 pays via un réseau de 85 agences, nous finançons et suivons aujourd'hui plus de 2500 projets de développement.

Digital Africa est une démarche d’innovation ouverte et inclusive, dans l’esprit des « Communs », qui vise à soutenir la dynamique entrepreneuriale africaine, impulser l’innovation par le numérique, et accompagner l’émergence d’entrepreneurs à impact.

​Le label Digital Africa fédère les initiatives et les écosystèmes d’innovation africains, pour les accompagner en leur donnant accès à des ressources et des opportunités d’affaires, et les met en relation avec les écosystèmes d’innovation européens pour penser ensemble, le futur.

Un problème ? Une question ?

Contactez-nous s'il vous plaît :

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle